Thursday, June 3, 2010
Blog 13
Blog 13 Who owns the media
Blog 13: Who Owns the Media
The way I see it, media is a in a constant state of flux. It never seems to stop evolving as it assimilates new technologies and social groups to get points across. Although the news is shifting from being privatized to a more public and apolitical stance, the news itself has not changed in the sense that its foundation is entertainment to its audience to drag in attention. It is supported by advertisements more now than ever and I do not see that changing anytime soon. In my personal experiences, the evolution of my personal technology has grown out of control. My first computer was a fun toy that my dad actually used for work, costing no more than $250. Ten years later I have been through more than a handful of computers, each more expensive than the last. In addition to the desk top desktop assimilation, my pockets have exploded (not from spare cash) but debt built in the form of microprocessor-rich devices like cell phones, ipods, cameras, and pagers… just kidding, no pagers. I have always considered myself ahead of the tech learning curve and also an early adopter of new tech. I; however, am unsure of my future as a geek, it seems that anyone is capable of almost the same final product as I am with technologies that focus on simplifying what were once difficult and impossible tasks for the average Joe. I am in fact, about to jump onto a ship that I am unsure of its destination. On Friday, I will be receiving a HTC Evo 4G handset that is the first 4G communication device to be sold in USA (via Sprint + Clearwire networks). What will this semi-promised boost in internet speed give me? Quite possibly a short head start as opposed to my peers who will probably take a year or two until they feel the need to adopt this tech. Technology, why am I addicted to you, and why do you cheat on me with everyone else?
Who owns the Media?
I used to live in the south, in a rural area, and I remember not being able to have high speed internet at home, though I was able to use it in town and at school. Knowing that technology was there, but not being able to fully utilize it, was my first experience with the changing technological landscape. Years later, I'm beginning to see it with cell phones. New phones are being made with cameras towards the user, a precursor to video calls, and I still have my old brick of a cell phone. I'm imagining when I'll be persuaded into spending the money I really don't have for a phone I really don't need because of the advances made in technology influencing culture.
Who owns the media
I don't have a facebook now either and it definitely affects me. My friends always tell me to get one, like it will somehow affect them in some way. It seems like somebody could throw a party and not tell anybody about it in real life, but people will still come because it is on facebook. It makes me feel slightly disconnected but not enough to have a facebook. I think it makes other people more uncomfortable that I don't exsist in internet and they cannot identify me because of it. They can't read my profile or look at my pictures and therefore they cannot judge me in the way that they can judge people with a facebook, and this makes them uncomfortable or uneasy.
Wednesday, June 2, 2010
Blog 13 - Who Owns Media
Last summer I went on a 3-day weekend camping trip in Bodega Bay. When my friends and I arrived at the site, I realized I forgot the most important thing, my cellphone! MY first reaction is panic and lost of connection to everyone! The funniest thing is that I didn't realize the people I was with at the moment because I wished I had my cellphone. This creation of an illusion of a lost connection has been created in our culture through the commodity of mobile phone and mobile internet. Afterwards, I forced myself to calm down, and join everyone at the camp. The trip came and gone faster than I wish it had. My friends and I told ghost stories during the night, built sand castles, buried each other in sand, swam, and really just BONDED! I had so much fun outside of what contains that mobile communication device that I have forgotten about instantly wanting to check my phone or if anyone texted me or updating my twitter about what I am doing. I simply had fun with those around me physically. This experience really made clear to me that one of my relationship to the media has some form of passiveness as well as remembering that media like mobile devices with internet connection, is not necessarily "needed" to connect with others. I have only forgotten the the old ways of social networking as these changes are occuring in media.
Another example of my relationship to the media concerns the fact that even with the availability for participatory interactions in web 2.0, I feel that my personality still prevails against intense participation in facebook updates, twitter, and youtube uploads about self. For example, I sometimes feel like I'm left out of my generation's fad in terms of what's in and what's not in terms of new interaction social network ideas like twitter and tumbler. I remember when facebook was in it's peak years and I made an account. Then I would try to copy what others had on their facebook page that I thought would make me look more interesting, extravert, etc. So I kept updating my status trying to be different, post images that were different, and portrayed myself as "unique" and a deep person. After awhile, I realized that keeping up with these things to show people who I am was ironically doing the opposite. I didn't care for what people thought of me. I thought that this was the thing to do, but I am a very lazy person in terms of trying to express myself to people online that I don't even know very well. I ask myself why I would bother trying to show these people who I am if I will never really interact with them in person even if we did go to the same high school before. Thus, my personality lacks interest in these social networking even when there's a lot of
participatory channels. Ultimately, with the changes in media, my relationship with the media will never be quite up to par to the mainstream users.
Blog 13
Another experience I had with the new technology is the use of texting. At first, I HATED it because why should you have to work out your fingers when all you can do is call them? Make some use of your fingers by dialing the numbers... but I guess people like gaining some finger muscles. Why don't ya flex it out sometime to see how much you text. I notice that people do not pay attention anymore. And I'm talking paying attention in general. What I hate the most is when people are texting during a lecture or when you are in the middle of talking, they always look on their phone hoping that someone texts them. Oh, and my personal favorite, people who text when you are talking on the phone with them. Does anyone care what anyone says anymore? Technology somehow creates a new world for us making things easier in our lives, yet somehow destroys us leaving us defenseless to do anything on our own anymore.
Blog 13- Smartmobs
Another experience that I have had with the change in media is definitely texting. Initially it was something new and interesting that I could do with my phone, but now it has become so much more than that. There are rules and texting etiquette, there are things that you could read into or things you shouldn’t read into. All of this is through a little message that is typically less than 200 characters long. Texting has become my go to method of communication rather than just calling the person. I feel that by texting I am not bothering the person, and they have the option to read the text later and respond when they can. However, they can do that with a phone call too. Not going to lie I have fallen into the texting thing, and I constantly keep in touch with friends this way. I know it is not personal, which is something that the article talks about. I am guilty of being one of those people that walk around almost aimlessly with my vision focused squarely on my phone and what I am typing. I have come to anticipate texts and read too far into a very late reply to my initial text. I feel that these are the two main things that I have experienced in the change of media and technology.
Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Viral Video Project
Using Facebook and word-of-mouth, we spread the word to everyone we knew, asking them to watch our video on YouTube and leave comments about their impression. We posted the video on Break.com as a control test, and told no one that our video was on this site. The success for the Break.com control test was poor, with only ten views and no comments. The success of the video on my YouTube account was
far superior; the end result was 125 views, and seven comments. The first six days of tracking the video on my YouTube account were the biggest bursts in views, with 63 views after the first day, followed by 88 views by the end of the third day, and 105 by the end of the sixth. The last six days crept along slowly, with no big jumps in between.
Of the seven comments left on my YouTube account and my Facebook, three of them stood out as having some participation with the project's critique of media. The YouTube user Renegadevibe made constructive suggestion about our video and sound editing, as well as asking other viewers to check out his own videos. A commenter from Facebook, Sampson Li, thought that the video had an “old documentary feel”. And another Facebook friend, Yentl Ip, agreed with our interpretation that WoW was definitely “way too much” for beginners entering the gaming community. The most detailed comment came from the YouTube user, Canterios, who said, “This was awesome. It was like Minority Report meets The Matrix going horribly wrong, but in a good way. But it's scarily truthful with how kids are now. Hell, I saw a 10 year old with a cell phone and an iPod today; she was texting on the phone and listening to her ipod, ignoring everything her mom was trying to say to her.”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cB_tyBcG7Dc
http://www.break.com/usercontent/2010/5/20/tech-addiction-1841180